Emirati – French Cultural Dialogue

The United Arab Emirates and France have built up ever closer ties since the creation of the Federation in 1971. The Founding father, the late Sheikh Zayed, whose memory was honoured in 2018 for the 100th anniversary of his birth, has continually sought, as all his French counterparts, to promote a relationship based on friendship and trust. This relationship is nurtured by a privileged strategic partnership, a close political and defence cooperation, strong economic bonds and flagship projects in the fields of culture and education.

This long-standing and strong friendship between the authorities of our two coun­tries was reaffirmed on the occasion of the inauguration of the Louvre Abu Dhabi, on November 8th 2017, by the President of the French Republic, Emmanuel Macron, the Vice-President, Prime minister, Minister of Defence of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, and the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

This friendship is also the result of mutual understanding between the peoples of our two countries, as illustrated by many joint initiatives: the Louvre Abu Dhabi, first universal museum of the Arab world, Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi, an Emirati uni­versity delivering French degrees to students from various nationalities, INSEAD and ESMOD, leading French institutions settled in the UAE, as well as other French schools and universities which have partnered with prestigious Emirati institutions, notably in the fields of medicine, law and arts.

The “Emirati-French Cultural Programme” dedicated to the opening of the Louvre Abu Dhabi, marked the success of the last ten years of cultural cooperation. This success had to carry on. It is for this reason in particular that we signed, on  November 9th 2017, a new cooperation agreement that implements the “Emirati-French Cultural Dialogue”, in order to raise the level of our ambitions for our exchanges and encounters, in France and in the UAE.

Since a dialogue can only truly exist if we share the same languages, we have taken firm commitments to promote both of our languages. The teaching of French has been reintroduced this year in Emirati public schools for the first time since 1988. We welcome this concrete achievement and are very grateful to the pilot schools leading the way, with the support of French curriculum schools in the UAE. We also welcome the project of opening an intensive training session in Arabic media and Gulf dialects and cultures at Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi, along with other numerous initiatives to promote Arabic teaching in France, in schools and lear­ning centers, supported both by French government authorities and cultural institu­tions such as the Arab World Institute (IMA).

Initially planned for 2018 only, it was decided to extend the “Emirati-French Cultural Dialogue” for another year following its tremendous success. This Cultural Dialogue is the occasion to renew our long-standing friendship through initiatives demonstrating the boundless energy of our creative communities and their willingness to use this momentum to achieve innovative projects.

This third and last publication offers a comprehensive look at the activities and events to come, until the closing of the Dialogue in March 2020 two years after its launching.

We would like to warmly thank all the actors, explorers, artists, sponsors and institutions taking part in the Emirati-French Cultural Dialogue for their invaluable contribution to the meeting of our two cultures.

H.E. Noura bint Mohammed AL KAABI

Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development of the United Arab Emirates

H.E. Ludovic POUILLE

Ambassador of France to the United Arab Emirates

Recover the brochure:

Dialogue culturel franco-émirien

Les Emirats arabes unis et la France ont noué des relations toujours plus étroites depuis la création de la Fédération en 1971. Cheikh Zayed, le Père fondateur de la Nation dont nous avons honoré en 2018 la mémoire à l’occasion du centenaire de sa naissance, a toujours eu à cœur, comme chacun de ses homologues français, de développer une relation de confiance et d’amitié entre les deux pays, nourrie par un partenariat stra­tégique privilégié, une coopération politique et de défense étroite, des échanges éco­nomiques croissants et des projets emblématiques dans les domaines culturel et éducatif.

Cette amitié forte, portée par les plus hautes autorités de nos deux pays, a été réitérée à l’occasion de l’inauguration du Louvre Abu Dhabi, le 8 novembre 2017, par le Pré­sident de la République française, M. Emmanuel Macron, le Vice-Président, Premier ministre, ministre de la défense de la Fédération des Emirats arabes unis et Emir de Dubaï, Son Altesse Cheikh Mohammed bin Rachid Al Maktoum, et le Prince héritier d’Abou Dabi et Vice-Commandant suprême des Forces armées, Son Altesse Cheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Cette amitié est aussi le résultat d’une compréhension mutuelle entre les peuples de nos deux pays, dont témoignent de nombreuses initiatives conjointes : le Louvre Abu Dhabi, premier musée universel du monde arabe, Sorbonne Université Abu Dhabi, université émirienne délivrant des diplômes français à des étudiants de toutes natio­nalités, l’INSEAD et ESMOD, établissements français d’excellence installés aux Emi­rats, ainsi que d’autres écoles et universités françaises de premier plan qui ont noué des partenariats avec des établissements émiriens prestigieux, notamment dans le domaine de la médecine, du droit et des arts.

Le « Programme culturel franco-émirien » dédié à l’ouverture du Louvre Abu Dhabi a marqué le succès des dix dernières années de coopération culturelle. Ce succès appelait une suite.

C’est pourquoi nous avons signé le 9 novembre 2017 un nouvel accord de coopération, fer de lance du « Dialogue culturel franco-émirien », pour élever le niveau d’ambition de nos échanges et de nos rencontres, en France comme aux Emirats arabes unis.

Et parce qu’un dialogue ne peut être entendu que si nous parlons les mêmes langues, nous avons pris des engagements fermes pour promouvoir nos langues respectives. L’enseignement du français a été réintroduit cette année dans les écoles publiques émiriennes pour la première fois depuis 1988. Nous nous ré­jouissons de cette réalisation concrète et saluons les premières écoles pilotes qui montreront la voie, avec le soutien des écoles françaises aux Emirats arabes unis, de Sorbonne Université Abu Dhabi et des Alliances françaises d’Abou Dabi et de Dubaï. Nous saluons également le projet de création d’une session de formation intensive aux médias arabes et aux dialectes et aux cultures du Golfe à Sorbonne Université Abu Dhabi, ainsi que les nombreuses initiatives prises pour renforcer l’enseignement de la langue arabe en France, dans les écoles et centres de langue, tant par les autorités gouvernementales françaises que par des institutions culturelles comme l’Institut du monde arabe.

Initialement prévu pour la seule année 2018, le « Dialogue culturel franco-émirien » a rencontré un tel succès qu’il a été décidé de le prolonger d’un an. Il est ainsi l’occasion de renouveler notre longue et durable amitié, par des initiatives qui témoignent de l’énergie débordante de nos créateurs et de leur volonté commune de porter cet élan vers des projets résolument innovants.

Cette troisième et dernière publication offre un panorama des riches activités et programmes à venir, jusqu’à la clôture du programme en mars 2020, deux ans après son lancement.

Que tous les acteurs, explora­teurs, artistes, mécènes et institutions participant à ce Dialogue culturel franco-émirien soient chaleureusement remerciés pour leur contribution inestimable à la rencontre de nos deux cultures.

Son Exc. Noura bint Mohammed AL KAABI,

Ministre de la Culture et du Développement des Savoirs

Son Exc. Ludovic POUILLE,

Ambassadeur de France auprès de l’Etat des Emirats arabes unis

Retrouvez la brochure complète: