Download the catalogue of the exhibition

“Co-Lab: Contemporary Art and Savoir-faire” is a collaborative project, a “skills workshop” that gave to four artists living in the UAE the opportunity to be part of a unique experience alongside four historical French manufacturers.

With a view to a mutual inspiration, the Manufacture Nationale de Sèvres opened its doors to Talin Hazbar to work on ceramics. The manufacturing company of Beauvais embarked upon a collaboration with Khalid Shafar, around the art of weaving. The luxury glassware firm of Saint-Just teamed up with Zeinab Alhashemi, and the MTX Broderie Architecturale engaged with Vikram Divecha.

The early beginnings of this previously unseen project revolving around creation and skills-trading was first presented at the 2016 edition of Abu Dhabi Art. The four artists-manufacturers were at the Art fair to engage the general audience in their dawning cooperation.

The original artworks created by these four artists and produced by the French manufacturers are the subject of a temporary exhibition at the Louvre Abu Dhabi from 21 December 2017 to 25 March 2018.

These four artworks hence combine the artist’s inspiration and creativity, with the technique and know-how of the French manufacturers. These four artistic projects have a common central notion: time. Each artist expresses this common theme using different approach and materials. The Sèvres ceramic techniques, the weaving art of Beauvais, the artistic glasses of Saint-Just and the architectural embroidery from MTX are reworked and exalted by the creative minds of the four UAE-based artists.

Through their very personal looks, they create unique artworks that reflect both an understanding of the UAE, and a reinvention of the use of historical French techniques.

« Metamorphic» by Zeinab Alhashemi x Verrerie de Saint-Just / Saint-Gobain
« Train to Rouen» by Vikram Divecha x MTX – Broderie Architecturale
« Transient: a brief stay» by Talin Hazbar x Sèvres – Manufacture et Musées nationaux
« Chromachron » by Khalid Shafar x Mobilier national et Manufactures des Gobelins, de Beauvais et de la Savonnerie

The artists

Zeinab Alhashemi

Vikram Divecha

Talin Hazbar

Khalid Shafar

The manufacturers

 

Throwback to Co-Lab’s presentation during Abu Dhabi Art 2016

Download Co-Lab’s brochure / Abu Dhabi Art 2016

Brochure Co Lab

 

« Co-Lab : art contemporain et savoir-faire » est un projet collaboratif, un « atelier de compétences » qui offre l’opportunité à quatre artistes résidant aux Émirats arabes unis de vivre une expérience unique avec quatre hautes manufactures historiques françaises.

Dans la perspective d’une inspiration mutuelle, la Manufacture nationale de Sèvres a ainsi accueilli Talin Hazbar autour du travail de la céramique. La manufacture de Beauvais a quant à elle entrepris une collaboration avec Khalid Shafar, autour de l’art du tissage. La Haute verrerie d’art de Saint-Just s’est associée à Zeinab Alhashemi, et l’atelier MTX Broderie Architecturale est engagé auprès de Vikram Divecha.

Les prémices de ce projet inédit, qui place la création et l’échange de compétences en son cœur, ont d’abord été présentés à l’occasion de l’édition 2016 de la foire d’art contemporain Abu Dhabi Art. Les quatre couples artistes-manufactures étaient présents pour échanger avec le public autour de leur coopération naissante.

Les œuvres originales créées par ces quatre artistes et produites par les hautes manufactures françaises, feront l’objet d’une exposition temporaire au Louvre Abu Dhabi à partir du 21 décembre.

Les quatre œuvres associent la créativité et l’inspiration des artistes  avec la technique et le savoir-faire des manufactures françaises. Ces quatre projets artistiques ont en commun une notion centrale : le temps. Un fil rouge décliné par chacun des artistes par des techniques et l’usage de matériaux variés. La céramique de Sèvres, l’art du tissage de Beauvais, les verres d’art de Saint-Just et la technique de broderie architecturale de MTX sont retravaillés et sublimés par les esprits créatifs des quatre artistes basés aux Emirats. A travers leurs regards personnels, ils livrent des œuvres uniques, reflétant à la fois une lecture particulière des Emirats arabes unis tout en réinventant l’utilisation de techniques françaises historiques.

Khalid Shafar

Talin Hazbar

Vikram Divecha

Zeinab Alhashemi