Download the programme

 

To know more:

Universal expressions: Inspired by Louvre Abu Dhabi

The Emirati-French cultural programme, inspired by Louvre Abu Dhabi started on 16th of March with a performance by the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra at Manarat Al Saadiyat

The Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester (Youth Orchestra), led by internationally celebrated conductor, Christoph Eschenbach performed a concert overlooking the Louvre Abu Dhabi construction site featuring two world premiere commissions. The concert, titled Universal Expressions: Inspired by Louvre Abu Dhabi took place on Wednesday 16 March 2016 at Manarat Al Saadiyat on Saadiyat Island.

The evening began with Emirati composer Faisal Al Saari’s specially commissioned piece Zayed’s Dream, which linked and entwined the wide symphonic sounds of a classical orchestra with melodies and instruments from Emirati heritage. This was followed by a world premiere from one of today’s greatest living contemporary French composers, the director of the Conservatoire de Paris, Bruno Mantovani, Once Upon a Time. The Cello Fantasy was performed by one of today’s star soloists: Gautier Capuçon. Following the interval, the orchestra performed the spectacular symphonic piece, La Mer (The Sea) by impressionist composer, Claude Debussy.

Founded in 1986 by the famous late Claudio Abbado, the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester is one of the world’s most prestigious youth orchestras, performing at major venues and festivals with leading conductors and soloists such as Herbert Blomstedt, Myung-Whun Chung, Sir Colin Davis, Bernard Haitink, Pierre Boulez, Paavo Järvi or Philippe Jordan.

Programme du concert

 

Pour en savoir plus :

 

Inspirations universelles : Concert pour le Louvre Abu Dhabi

L’ouverture du Programme culturel franco-émirien a eu lieu le 16 mars 2016 à Manarat Al Saadiyat avec l’Orchestre Gustav Mahler.

Le Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester sous la baguette du légendaire Christoph Eschenbach a interprété le 16 mars 2016 à Manarat Al Saadiyat en première mondiale, deux créations musicales qui célèbrent l’idée d’universalité exprimée par le Louvre Abu Dhabi. Le concert était intitulé Inspirations universelles : Concert pour le Louvre Abu Dhabi.

La soirée a commencé par une pièce intitulée Le Rêve de Zayed, créée par le compositeur et soliste émirien Faisal Al Saari, qui a mêlé pour la première fois l’ampleur sonore d’un orchestre symphonique avec des mélodies et des instruments du patrimoine émirien. La composition française de la soirée était signée par l’un des plus grands compositeurs contemporains français, directeur du Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris, Bruno Mantovani. Intitulée Once upon a Time, la pièce, une Fantaisie pour Violoncelle, a été interprétée par le célèbre violoncelliste, Gautier Capuçon. Pour la seconde partie de la soirée, l’orchestre a joué l’une des pièces emblématiques du répertoire français, les trois esquisses symphoniques de Claude Debussy : La Mer.

Fondé par Claudio Abbado en 1986, le Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, est composé de 120 musiciens et est considéré aujourd’hui comme le principal orchestre de jeunes talents européens. Il se produit dans les plus prestigieuses salles de concert et a déjà accompagné les plus grands solistes sous la baguette de chefs tels que Herbert Blomstedt, Myung-Whun Chung, Sir Colin Davis, Bernard Haitink, Pierre Boulez, Paavo Järvi ou Philippe Jordan.