TRANCE FORMS

Je suis ma Langue / I Am My Language/أنا لغتي

Abu Dhabi Tourism & Culture Authority (TCA Abu Dhabi), the French Embassy and the Institut français have collaborated with the French National School of Dramatic Arts in the context of an Emirati-French Cultural Programme with a concentrated Theatre Training, titled TRANCE-FORMS. This performing arts project concluded with four theatrical shows titled ‘I Am My Language’, taking place on 25, 26, 27, and 28 February, 2017, at Manarat Al Saadiyat on Saadiyat Island, Abu Dhabi. This project seeks to pave the way for the emergence of an experimental and innovative theatrical group in the UAE.

TRANCE-FORMS entailed the training of UAE-based actors and comedians by professionals from the French National Academy of Dramatic Arts, in Abu Dhabi and Paris that ran through November 2016 to January 2017. Following an open-call audition, this master class unraveled in three phases: an intensive training at Manarat Al Saadiyat in Abu Dhabi, followed by training sessions at the French National School of Dramatic Arts in Paris, concluding with the theatrical production of ‘I Am My Language’ at Manarat Al Saadiyat on Saadiyat Island, Abu Dhabi. Participants were chosen after auditions and a rigorous selection process that took place in October, 2016, where the judging panel comprised French and Emirati theatre experts. The open call resulted in bringing together a combination of actors and performers from different backgrounds and countries, like Kyrgyzstan, Jordan, India, Armenia, Syria, Palestine, USA, Morocco, Canada, Columbia, France and the UAE. Designed to provide a unique opportunity for talent across the country, TRANCE-FORMS aims to profile a novel  generation of theatrical performers in the UAE, through this artistic production.

The research team was inspired by the cosmopolitan multiple talents, and the common youthful energy they observed in the auditions. Correspondingly, the performance will encapsulate the evolution of Abu Dhabi as a city, and the UAE as a country, through portraying the universal concepts of youth, memory and love. This will be achieved through an assembly of dances, music, poems, life stories and recitals from both Arabic and French classical literature.

The multidisciplinary course is directed by Marcel Bozonnet, who entered the Comédie-Française in 1983, and became the director of the French National School of Dramatic Arts from 1993 to 2001. Subsequently, he was appointed Director of the Comédie-Française in 2001, before establishing his own company ‘Les Comédiens-Voyageurs,’ in 2007. Marcel Bozonnet is currently an associate-artist at the National Dramatic Centre (Theatre of the Union in Limoges city) and is part of the Academy’s teaching staff. The performance is also being directed by Caroline Marcadé, who was a soloist member of the Opera of Paris Theatre Research Group, from 1973-1980. In 1979, she formed the Caroline Marcadé troupe, which in 1999 became the Elan Noir-Théâtre Evadé troupe – in which she staged many choreographic creations. Since 1985, she has worked as a choreographer in over 100 theatre and opera shows. In 1993, she designed the “Body and Space” department within the French National School of Dramatic Arts where, along with her students, she creates numerous plays. Today, Caroline Marcadé is a director and professor at the French National School of Dramatic Arts, with several published and staged plays.

TRANCE FORMS

Je suis ma Langue / I Am My Language/أنا لغتي

La formation théâtrale TRANCE-FORMS constitue le troisième acte du Programme culturel franco-émirien mis en œuvre par l’Autorité du Tourisme et de la Culture d’Abu Dhabi (TCA Abu Dhabi), l’Ambassade française aux Emirats arabes unis et l’Institut français. En collaboration avec le Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique de Paris, cette formation s’est achevée avec quatre représentations du spectacle « Je suis ma Langue / I Am My Language/أنا لغتي  », qui ont eu lieu les 25, 26, 27 et 28 février 2017 à Manarat al Saadiyat, sur l’île de Saadiyat à Abu Dhabi.

Ce projet a pour ambition de favoriser l’émergence d’une troupe de théâtre expérimentale et innovante aux Emirats arabes unis. TRANCE-FORMS est le résultat d ’une formation d’acteurs basés aux Emirats arabes unis, par les plus grands experts du théâtre français, en partenariat avec le Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique de Paris, qui s’est déroulée entre novembre 2016 et février 2017. Après une phase de sélection, le projet s’est déroulé en trois étapes successives : une formation intensive à Manarat Al Saadiyat à Abu Dhabi, poursuivie par un stage au Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique à Paris, avant de se conclure par la création finale en février, intitulée « Je suis ma Langue / I Am My Language/أنا لغتي  ». Les participants ont été choisis après un rigoureux processus de sélection en octobre 2016, supervisé par un jury composé d’experts du théâtre, français et émiriens. Les auditions ont permis la sélection d’acteurs aux profils très variés, résidant aux Emirats arabes unis et venant de tous les continents : Kirghizistan, Jordanie, Arménie, Syrie, Palestine, Etats-Unis, Maroc, Liban, Colombie, France, Inde, Bahreïn, Emirats arabes unis.

L’équipe a été inspirée par les talents multiples et cosmopolites des jeunes comédiens, et leur énergie commune renforcée lors des auditions. Le spectacle synthétise l’évolution d’Abu Dhabi en tant que ville, des Emirats arabes unis en tant que pays, en en représentant les concepts universels de jeunesse, de la mémoire et de l’amour. Cette pièce est réalisée par un assemblage de danses, musiques, poèmes, histoires et récitals inspirés de la littérature classique arabe et française.

La formation multidisciplinaire a été dirigée par Marcel Bozonnet, entré à la Comédie-Française en 1983, avant de prendre la tête du Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique de 1993 à 2001, puis celle de la Comédie-Française en 2001. En 2007, il crée sa propre compagnie « Les Comédiens Voyageurs ». Marcel Bozonnet est actuellement artiste associé au Centre d’Art Dramatique de la ville de Limoges, et enseigne toujours au Conservatoire. Le spectacle est également mis en scène par Caroline Marcadé, membre soliste du Groupe de Recherches Théâtrales de l’Opéra de Paris de 1973 à 1980. En 1979, elle crée la compagnie Caroline Marcadé qui devient, en 1999, la compagnie Élan Noir-Théâtre Evadé pour laquelle elle réalise de nombreuses créations chorégraphiques. Depuis 1985, elle intervient en tant que chorégraphe sur plus de cent spectacles de théâtre et d’opéra. En 1993, elle crée le Département « Corps et Espace » au sein du Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique de Paris, et met en scène de nombreux spectacles avec ses étudiants.