In 2018 – French Design
How innovation creates history

Presentation of the exhibition:
«Le French design, how innovation creates history»

When? From November 12th  to November 18th 2018

The Institut français in the United Arab Emirates, cultural department of the French Embassy, participated in November 2018 in the Dubai Design Week with a project entirely dedicated to the emerging French design scene. The exhibition “Le French Design, how innovation creates history“, created by the VIA and staged by Maud Louvrier-Clerc, redefined the links between art, design and lifestyles through a selection of original works by 14 designers from the Made in France en Transparence collective.

By experimenting on the borders between pure aestheticism and functionality, design has always influenced our daily lives. Designers are pioneers, they have identified the creative possibilities offered by material, societal and environmental innovations. Thus, design created our history and helps us today to better understand the future.

According to the Exhibition Commissioner, Maud Louvrier-Clerc, design – as a whole – highlights the challenges, particularly the ecological challenges, that we must face: “With the beginning of the 21st century, as we are confronted to climate challenge, it seems vital to give priority to innovation geared towards sustainable development and creating a responsible lifestyle. French design, in resonance with its heritage, is the bearer of this philosophy and these values. ».

The exhibition “Le French Design, how innovation creates history” promotes the diversity of upcoming French designers who, each in their own way, use innovations to create in a sustainable, ethical and responsible way.

In 2020, designers will return to their approach as the mandatory lockdown fades away.

Discover the designers and their works here!

Dimitri Pelissier

Année 2018 – Le French Design
How innovation creates history

Quand ? Du 12 au 18 novembre 2018

L’Institut français des Émirats arabes unis a participé à la Dubaï Design Week en 2018 avec un projet entièrement consacré à la scène émergente du design français. L’exposition « Le French Design, how innovation creates history », créée par le VIA et scénographiée par la commissaire Maud Louvrier-Clerc, a donc redéfini les liens entre arts, design et modes de vie à travers une sélection d’œuvres originales de 14 designers issus du Collectif Made in France en Transparence.

Le design, en jouant des frontières entre esthétisme pur et fonctionnalité a, de tout temps, imprégné notre quotidien. Précurseurs, les designers ont cerné les possibilités créatives que leurs offraient les innovations matérielles, sociétales et environnementales. Ainsi, le design a créé notre histoire et nous aide aujourd’hui à mieux appréhender le futur.

Selon la Commissaire de l’exposition, Maud Louvrier-Clerc, en influençant nos modes de vie, le design joue un rôle dans la prise de conscience des défis, notamment écologiques, auxquels nous devons faire face : « En ce début de 21ème siècle, face au défi climatique, il semble vital de privilégier une innovation tournée vers le développement durable, créatrice d’un mode de vie responsable. Le design français, en résonance avec son héritage, est porteur de cette philosophie et de ces valeurs. ».

L’exposition « Le French Design, how innovation creates history » présente ainsi la diversité des créateurs émergents français, qui tous à leur manière, utilisent des innovations pour créer de manière durable, éthique et responsable.

Les designers reviennent en 2020 sur leur démarche, avec le recul du confinement imposé.

Découvre les designers et leurs œuvres ici !

Dimitri Pelissier