The UAE, Design & the Institut français in the UAE

Welcome to the website dedicated to French design in the United Arab Emirates!

Are you looking for information on French design in the United Arab Emirates? You have come to the right place!

This platform highlights the different activities initiated or supported by the French Institute in the UAE, in collaboration with its local and French partners. This website is also a resource centre to enlighten your interest in French design and establish relations with the UAE in this field.

The AFD (Alliance France Design) defines design as “a creative, multidisciplinary and humanistic intellectual process with the sole purpose of addressing and providing solutions to everyday problems, small and large, related to economic, social and environmental issues“.

However, the particularity of design is that there is no single, definitive definition because it reinvents itself in each era, following the evolutions, cultures and contributions of designers from all over the world.

Ar you a student, professional amateur or teacher want to discover or share the actors of design in France and in the United Arab Emirates?

Enjoy your visit!

Les Émirats arabes unis, le design et l’Institut français des EAU

Bienvenue sur la plateforme dédiée au design français aux Émirats arabes unis !

Vous êtes à la recherche d’informations sur le design français aux Émirats arabes unis ? Vous êtes au bon endroit !

Cette plateforme présente les différentes actions initiées ou soutenues par  l’Institut français aux Émirats arabes unis, en collaboration avec ses partenaires locaux et français. Cette plateforme est également un centre de ressources pour renseigner votre intérêt sur le design français et établir des relations avec les Emirats arabes unis dans ce domaine.

L’Alliance française des designers définit le design comme « un processus intellectuel créatif, pluridisciplinaire et humaniste, dont le but est de traiter et d’apporter des solutions aux problématiques de tous les jours, petites et grandes, liées aux enjeux économiques, sociaux et environnementaux ».

Petite précision de lexique néanmoins. La particularité du design est qu’il n’existe pas de définition unique et définitive, puisqu’il se réinvente à chaque époque, en suivant les évolutions, les cultures et les apports des designers du monde entier.

Vous êtes étudiants, amateurs professionnels, ou enseignant désireux de découvrir ou faire partager les acteurs du design en France et aux Émirats arabes unis ?

Bonne visite !